Perfectionism and Publishing

Perfectionist tendencies can be both a blessing and a curse. Sometimes the drive for perfection is a motivating force, but I have more often found that it is a paralyzing one. No piece of writing, whether it’s a legal brief, blog post, or creative work, is ever perfect, a goal that has objective components, like grammar and spelling,* and subjective parts, including writing style.  Even experienced storytellers, such as those at Pixar, are rarely 100% pleased with the product of their hard work, saying, “our films don’t get finished… They just get released.”  Generally, the longer the piece is and the less time available to work on it, the farther away from perfect it’s going to be.

In my professional life, in which I write memos and briefs, externally imposed deadlines force me to say, eventually, “This piece is done; it’s as close to perfect as it can get.”  With limited time set by courts and procedural rules, I strive for accuracy in my retelling of client’s stories and for legitimacy of my arguments under the law.  My next priority is proof-reading, and my last is writing style.  An inaccurate legal brief or memorandum could result in a sanction from the court.  Typos matter, too.  A misspelled or misplaced word can, for example, render an order of protection unenforceable.  See Davit v. Stogsdill, 371 Fed. Appx. 683 (2010).  It’s my job to meet, at a minimum, an acceptable level of accuracy, grammar, and style all before the deadline.  Missing a deadline could result in a plaintiff getting an otherwise meritorious case thrown out or a defendant losing the availability of a solid defense.

In the creative world, particularly with the increasing popularity and legitimacy of self-publishing avenues, there are no externally imposed deadlines.  Firmly in the driver’s seat of the journey from manuscript to published work, authors can take as much time as they want to get their work as close to perfect as possible.  So how do self-published authors know when their work is ready for release?  Friends and family might think the work is “perfect,” but they are hardly objective readers.  Even someone hired to critique and edit a work may not be objective or truthful (their business model depends on word-of-mouth, and really, would you recommend a reviewer who ripped apart your beloved manuscript?).  While the stakes are not as high as they are when a typo changes the meaning of a protection order, a poorly written or edited book may tarnish an author’s reputation.  I’ve read several wonderful indie books, suggesting there are people out there who know when it’s time to release their work.  What’s their secret?

My college dean, facing a throng of anxiety-prone freshman accustomed to being “perfect,” said that “the paper you turn in is always better than the paper you don’t.”  When perfectionism becomes paralyzing, a student is better off meeting the deadline and getting a C than failing altogether.  That’s true in academia and in the legal world, where it’s worse to risk sanction or loss of legal claims for missing a deadline (if attempts to extend are denied) than it is to have a couple of typos.  However, my dean’s advice is not necessarily true for creative endeavors: a novel that is published prematurely, one with too many typos, logical errors, or a clunky style, might not be better than the manuscript collecting dust. That’s a paralyzing thought.

Photo Credit: AMB, Misfortune of Knowing

*To the extent the rules of English are truly rules (see The English Language Will Betray You (If You Let It)).

20 thoughts on “Perfectionism and Publishing

  1. Pingback: Two Lovely Berries (New Adult Fiction): “A lovely, intelligent, and honest novel” – The Misfortune Of Knowing

  2. Pingback: Two Lovely Berries: Thank Yous & An Apology | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  3. Pingback: Typos: Condemnation for Common Mistakes | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  4. Pingback: My Dear Daughters (The Present Isn’t Worse than the Past) | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  5. Pingback: Cats Are the Solution to Writer’s Block (Well, Sort Of) | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  6. Pingback: When a Hobby Becomes a Job | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  7. Pingback: “Just Make A Mark”: Encouragement or the Celebration of Mediocrity? | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  8. Pingback: Jack London: The Scarcity of Honest Reviews | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  9. Pingback: Perfectionism and Publishing « Rebecca prompted

  10. I work in the legal field too and know exactly what you mean in terms of perfection. Good thing I am a paralegal and my attorney has the last say as to what stays and goes. I have no safety net as a self-published author. I have learned to trust myself more, that much goes without saying. I wrote five manuscripts (all which sit on my hard drive) and did nothing more with them. With number six I vowed to finish revisions and publish the darn thing. You do what you need to do as a professional and then you let it go. You will always have critics, but the reward comes from those who “love” your story. And if you are concerned about quality, you already have what it takes to put a quality story out there.

    1. I completely agree that a person who is concerned about quality, as perfectionists are, have what it takes to publish a quality story. It’s tough to know when to stop revising/stalling, though. Learning to trust yourself is important, probably because insecurity is at the heart of perfectionism, at least for many of us. Thanks for the comment!

  11. I just self-published my first book at amazon and smashwords. I set a deadline and I stuck to it. In fact, it’s not officially released until Saturday, but if you want it ready by publication date, you have to publish early. I’ve uploaded on both sites multiple times trying to fix things their conversion engine screwed up. The manuscript went through multiple betas. The cover was revamped several times. Yeah, I want to get it right, but when the time comes, you send it out into the world and are already working on the next book.

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience! Congratulations on your new book, and good luck with it. It sounds like you were very smart to set a deadline (and actually stick to it!). I’m one of those people who is incapable of sticking to “soft” deadlines–the ones that don’t have any consequences if I fail to meet my goal by that time. I’m a procrastinator by nature, too, a tendency that I think goes hand in hand with perfectionism (it’s easy to put off something you think won’t be perfect!). For me, that means that I work diligently until a project is near completion, and then I stall unless I have a firm deadline in place.

  12. Amen! The one caveat I would add: with the sheer volume of indie material crowding the scene, the best you can be seems imperative. I understand your points perfectly and I am wrestling with perfection myself. Good post!

    1. Yes, it’s very important for authors to offer their best work in its best form! It’s hard to produce such high quality work alone, and I hope all authors have people they can trust for critiques and assistance.

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

