The Liebster Award: “The Best Thing [For Relatively] Little Apples”

Musings of a Steampunk (Sarah) graciously bestowed upon my blog an honor reminiscent of the chain letters of my youth without the manipulative, superstition-laden “enticement” to accept or comply (you know, when the letter would threaten bad luck if the recipient “broke the chain”).  Rather, with this chain, known as the Liebster Award, the reasons to comply by linking to the person who nominated me, answering five questions, and nominating five bloggers and asking them questions are good ones: it draws attention to up-and-coming blogs (fewer than 200 followers) and generates organic links. So, Sarah, thank you!

As Sarah stated on her blog, these are the rules:

1. Thank and link back to the giver.
2. Answer the giver’s questions.
3. ‘Nominate’ five other blogs with fewer than 200 followers.
4. Ask five questions for one’s nominees to answer.
5. Post it all on one’s blog!

Here are my answers to Sarah’s five questions:

1.     Do you like puzzles?

  • Not particularly, for two reasons: (1) I’m terribly impatient and would never do a puzzle with too many pieces; and (2) I am too disorganized to keep all of the pieces long enough to complete the puzzle.  I have enjoyed completing puzzles with my daughters, largely because it’s fascinating to watch their hand-eye coordination and fine motor skills improve over time.

2.     When you have terrible writers’ block, what do you do about it?

  • I take a break to do something fun and relaxing, particularly outdoors, like taking a long walk or picking apples with the kids.

3.     Is there anywhere in the world you absolutely have to go, and anywhere you would never go?

  • It’s been a long time since I have traveled outside of the United States, and so there are many places in the world I would love to go.  The top of my list includes Greece, Cyprus, and Crete, as Ancient history has always been fascinating to me and my favorite cuisine originates from that part of the world.
  • There aren’t any places that I absolutely would never go, but I will admit that I am a relatively risk-averse type of person.  If the US Department of State has issued a travel advisory regarding a particular country, I am unlikely to want to go there.

4.     What is the most inspirational setting you can imagine?

  • I draw inspiration from many different settings, but the most inspirational would be a train, where there are people from many different backgrounds in close proximity and there is often beautiful/interesting scenery outside the window.

5.     What inspired you to be a blogger?

  • Seemingly eons ago, my high school class voted me as “Most Opinionated,” a dubious honor associated closely with two likely outcomes (1) law school graduation/admission to the Pennsylvania Bar; and (2) having a blog, after blogging became increasingly accessible to people with only a minimal understanding of computers.  Having opinions I feel a need to share (whether or not anyone wants to hear it) is what inspires me to be a blogger.  The question is why I waited so long to finally start one!

NOW, I will nominate five bloggers with fewer than 200 followers, whose blogs I’ve enjoyed reading.

The Spy and The Storyteller
ScriptRod
C Giovanni Writes
Robby Robin’s Journey
Zana Bass

If these individuals are inclined to answer the following questions, I would love to hear their answers:

(1)  What is your “super power”—an obscure talent or skill that you know (or have been told) is particularly good?  For example, some people are super-recognizers, super-tasters, or are particularly empathetic.

(2)  When you were little, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

(3)  Name a book or movie you’ve read or watched at least three times and explain why you did.

(4)  What’s your favorite first name that is not your own?  What do you like about it?

(5)  Where in the world would you like to be in 10 years?  Why?

Finally, you may be wondering what the connection is between the Liebster Award and the picture at the top of this post.  There isn’t much of one, except to say that for the bloggers I nominated and for others out there, I hope that whatever it is that brings you to blogging (such as sharing creative work) makes you as happy as that honey crisp apple makes my daughter.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

13 thoughts on “The Liebster Award: “The Best Thing [For Relatively] Little Apples”

  1. Pingback: Do You Write Under A Pen Name? (& Other Fun Facts) | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  2. Pingback: A Lovely Interruption to Regular Content | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  3. dicameron

    Thank you so much for nomiating my blog – how lovely! Will attempt to answer the questions soon in an effort to seem witty and interesting. It’s my son’s birthday today so may be a slight delay! Thanks again, much appreciated 🙂

  4. A.M.B., thank you so much for your vote of confidence. I always like a challenge and your questions definitely fall in that category! I’ll give them some thought and we’ll see what my “acceptance post” looks like. Which did you find more difficult, answering the questions or coming up with 5 new ones?! Thanks again – I think! Jane

    1. Hi Jane- I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog (and looking at your robby robin stories). I’m looking forward to reading your answers! I always find generating questions to be a harder task than answering questions. It’s especially hard when the questions are general, aiming to gather information I’d want to know from a couple people who are quite different from each other. It’s easier to come up with questions that are specific to one person.

      1. I am certainly honored to be nominated. I am rather new to this blogging experience and find it quite stimulating. I think my writing has benefitted also. Thanks for reading and listening. Now, let’s see if I can figure out the link backs!

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

