My First GIVEAWAY (Part of the Literary Blog Hop)!

 

Nov. 1, 2012: This giveaway is closed.  Stay tuned for my next one!  

 

Hello, Everyone!  Welcome to my FIRST GIVEAWAY, part of The Literary Blog Hop hosted by Judith at Leeswamme’s Blog.

The Literary Blog Hop will run from October 27th until October 31st.  Check out the participants below—there are 50 blogs participating!  It’s an opportunity to find new “bookish” blogs and win books or book-related items in their giveaways.

For newcomers to my blog (welcome!), I read a range of books with a preference for women’s fiction and children’s books (I have three kids, twins who are 4-years-old and an 18-month-old).

MY GIVEAWAY:

I will choose ONE winner who will have a choice between two paperback books OR four e-books* (for Kindle through Amazon) of the books listed below, which I will purchase and send to the lucky winner.  These books are from a range of genres, including literary fiction, mystery, women’s fiction, science fiction, and historical fiction, and I have reviewed each of these books on my blog.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

(1) Lee Fullbright, The Angry Woman Suite (Paperback or Ebook) (My Review)
Genre: Literary Fiction, Historical Fiction

(2) Anna King (Josephine Carr), Adele (The Rabbi’s Mother: Book One) (Paperback or Ebook) (My Review); Genre: Mystery

(3) Richard Levesque, Take Back Tomorrow (Paperback or Ebook) (My Review)
Genre: Science Fiction (a good choice for readers who are new to the genre)

(4) Leslie A. Gordon, Cheer: A Novel (Ebook Only) (My Review)
Genre: Contemporary Fiction; Women’s Fiction

(5) Jonas Jonasson, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared (Paperback or Ebook) (My Review)
Genre: Contemporary Fiction; Historical Fiction

(6) Patrick Somerville, The Cradle (Paperback Only) (My Review)
Genre: Literary Fiction

HOW TO ENTER

Anyone anywhere in the world may participate in this giveaway (originally, I limited this giveaway to North America, but I decided not to leave anyone out) as long as they have a valid address to which the post office will deliver.  You do not have to follow this blog or have a blog in order to participate.  All you have to do is write a comment below, anything from “I’m in!” to “Hello!” will suffice.  I’m curious to know what your favorite genre is.

The deadline to enter is 11:59 PM, October 31st (Eastern Standard Time).  After that point, I will choose one winner at random (using Random.org’s Integer Generator to pick a winner, and counting comments but not replies to comments).  I will contact that person by email and they must respond to my email within 48 hours and we will work out the details.

*If you choose the ebook option and I am unable to send you an ebook internationally (I believe it depends on the country), then you may be limited to choosing the paperbacks.  Please work with me as I figure it out.  Thanks!

OTHER PARTICIPATING BLOGS

  1. Leeswammes
  2. Read in a Single Sitting
  3. Ephemeral Digest
  4. My Devotional Thoughts
  5. Devouring Texts
  6. Tony’s Reading List
  7. Nishita’s Rants and Raves
  8. Too Fond
  9. The Parrish Lantern
  10. Kristi Loves Books
  11. The Book Club Blog
  12. Sam Still Reading
  13. Silver’s Reviews (USA)
  14. Bibliosue
  15. Heavenali
  16. Under My Apple Tree
  17. Misfortune of Knowing (North America)
  18. Lena Sledge’s Blog
  19. Lost Generation Reader
  20. Seaside Book Nook
  21. The Relentless Reader
  22. Rikki’s Teleidoscope
  23. Monique Morgan
  24. That READioactive Book Blog
  25. kaggsysbookisahramblings
  26. Ragdoll Books Blog
  27. Kate’s Library
  28. The Book Garden
  29. Uniflame Creates
  30. Curiosity Killed The Bookworm
  1. Ciska’s Book Chest
  2. The Book Divas Reads
  3. Alex in Leeds
  4. Simple Clockwork
  5. Bluestalking (USA)
  6. Fresh Ink Books
  7. Sweeping Me
  8. Giraffe Days
  9. Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book (USA)
  10. Books Thoughts Adventures (USA)
  11. emmalikestoread
  12. Colorimetry
  13. Page Plucker
  14. Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity
  15. 2606 Books and Counting
  16. Book Nympho
  17. She-Wolf Reads
  18. The Little Reader Library (Europe)
  19. Booklover Book Reviews
  20. Dolce Bellezza

52 thoughts on “My First GIVEAWAY (Part of the Literary Blog Hop)!

  1. Pingback: And The Winner Is… ROBYN! | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  2. Great choices, I am pleased that the blog hop has led me to find your blog today. I’d be especially excited to read The 100 Year Old Man… should I be lucky enough for my number to come up! As for my favourite genre, oooh it’s a tricky one, but I do love a good piece of crime fiction and also dystopian settings.

  3. Pingback: The First To Return To The Status Quo: The Birds | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  4. Congratulations on hosting your first giveaway on your blog! It’s an exciting feeling! My favourite genre is literary fiction, which I choose most often than not to review for on my blog!

    Thanks so much. A fellow blogger and new follower on WordPress: zaraalexis.

    Zara Alexis
    zgarcia(dot)alvarez(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. cyndeei

    Hi~Thank you for the chance to read two paperbacks and I cannot choose between them:) I read your reviews and I want to read all of them! Thank you. I read from many genre’s: Romance,Mystery,Classics, YA, Chick-Lit, Poetry..let’s just say I am a book-a-holic.
    Cyndee Thomas
    cyndee(dot)thomas0(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Great giveaway! I would love to read the 100 y/o Man and The Cradle. My favorite genres are memoirs, historical fiction & non-fiction, and contemporary literature, and my favorite subjects are music, food, true crime (like Mafia history), and (lately) politics/economics! Thanks.

  7. Hi, great selection: they are all tempting and I haven’t read any of them! My favourite genre varies depending on mood – I definitely go through phases.. At the moment I’m embedded in science fiction (and I’m alternating between classic SF and new stuff), but sometimes I live in crime fiction, and I have phases of romance, or horror, or YA, or literary fiction. Reading is like eating – I have to do it every day but my taste varies.

  8. Thanks for organising the giveaway! My favourite genre is contemporary fiction. Loving the blog hop at the moment 🙂 My email is ruthrjh (at) hotmail (dot) com Ruth

  9. Pingback: A Light Read For A Gloomy Day: Libby Mercer’s Fashioning a Romance | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  10. Pingback: A Book Club, A Giveaway and Nanowrimo « Leslie A. Gordon, Writer

  11. My favourite genre? Can I say eclectic? hahaha. I’ve been reading a lot of literary fiction and contemporary fiction. I really like the sounds of the 100 year old man! I just read the review …. so fun! 🙂

    readerrabbit22 at gmail.com
    my blog: guiltlessreading.blogspot.com

  12. mamabunny13

    My favorite genre is tied between historical fiction and dystopian. Go figure! lol
    I would love to win a copy of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared.
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot

  13. NovelKatie

    I’d also love to win the Jonas Jonasson book. Sounds interesting (just based on the title!).
    I think my favourite genre is literary fiction, but sometimes a thriller also fits the bill!
    Many thanks for the giveaway!
    Katie

  14. Great choices for the giveaway! Thanks for giving me the chance to win.

    I find it hard to love just 1 genre, but historical fiction and science fiction are high on my list.

    nrlymrtl at gmail dot com

  15. Fabulous give away! I like contemporary fiction. Also some historical fiction. I would love to win a copy of The 100 year old man. I have it on my list of needs to be read at some point! Thanks so much! And hope all goes well with you with the storm.

  16. Pingback: How a Bookish Person Prepares For a Natural Disaster or a Zombie Apocalypse | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  17. Your first giveaway is a great one. Thanks for linking to the Literary Blog Hop. I’d love to win the Patrick Somerville book. I actually love all the genres you mention here. I always say Contemporary fiction is my favorite as it encompasses a lot of the books.

  18. Lil B

    Please include me as well. The description of The Angry Woman’s Suite makes it sound darkly fascinating. I have yet to read your remaining reviews but will do so. Thank you for the opportunity to participate!

  19. Hi I’d love to be entered for Jonas Jonasson’s The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared, as I’ve read good things about it. Thanks.
    Ps here’s a poem for your children.

    Fox in Socks – Dr. Seuss

    Fox
    Socks
    Box
    Knox

    Knox in box.
    Fox in socks.

    Knox on fox in socks in box.

    Socks on Knox and Knox in box.

    Fox in socks on box on Knox.

    Chicks with bricks come.
    Chicks with blocks come.
    Chicks with bricks and blocks and clocks come.

    Look, sir. Look, sir. Mr. Knox, sir.
    Let’s do tricks with bricks and blocks, sir.
    Let’s do tricks with chicks and clocks, sir.

    First, I’ll make a quick trick brick stack.
    Then I’ll make a quick trick block stack.

    You can make a quick trick chick stack.
    You can make a quick trick clock stack.

    And here’s a new trick, Mr. Knox….
    Socks on chicks and chicks on fox.
    Fox on clocks on bricks and blocks.
    Bricks and blocks on Knox on box.

    Now we come to ticks and tocks, sir.
    Try to say this Mr. Knox, sir….

    Clocks on fox tick.
    Clocks on Knox tock.
    Six sick bricks tick.
    Six sick chicks tock.

    Please, sir. I don’t like this trick, sir.
    My tongue isn’t quick or slick, sir.
    I get all those ticks and clocks, sir,
    mixed up with the chicks and tocks, sir.
    I can’t do it, Mr. Fox, sir.

    I’m so sorry, Mr. Knox, sir.

    Here’s an easy game to play.
    Here’s an easy thing to say….

    New socks.
    Two socks.
    Whose socks?
    Sue’s socks.

    Who sews whose socks?
    Sue sews Sue’s socks.

    Who sees who sew whose new socks, sir?
    You see Sue sew Sue’s new socks, sir.

    That’s not easy, Mr. Fox, sir.

    Who comes? …
    Crow comes.
    Slow Joe Crow comes.

    Who sews crow’s clothes?
    Sue sews crow’s clothes.
    Slow Joe Crow sews whose clothes?
    Sue’s clothes.

    Sue sews socks of fox in socks now.

    Slow Joe Crow sews Knox in box now.

    Sue sews rose on Slow Joe Crow’s clothes.
    Fox sews hose on Slow Joe Crow’s nose.

    Hose goes.
    Rose grows.
    Nose hose goes some.
    Crow’s rose grows some.

    Mr. Fox!
    I hate this game, sir.
    This game makes my tongue quite lame, sir.

    Mr. Knox, sir, what a shame, sir.

    We’ll find something new to do now.
    Here is lots of new blue goo now.
    New goo. Blue goo.
    Gooey. Gooey.
    Blue goo. New goo.
    Gluey. Gluey.

    Gooey goo for chewy chewing!
    That’s what that Goo-Goose is doing.
    Do you choose to chew goo, too, sir?
    If, sir, you, sir, choose to chew, sir,
    with the Goo-Goose, chew, sir.
    Do, sir.

    Mr. Fox, sir,
    I won’t do it.
    I can’t say.
    I won’t chew it.

    Very well, sir.
    Step this way.
    We’ll find another game to play.

    Bim comes.
    Ben comes.
    Bim brings Ben broom.
    Ben brings Bim broom.

    Ben bends Bim’s broom.
    Bim bends Ben’s broom.
    Bim’s bends.
    Ben’s bends.
    Ben’s bent broom breaks.
    Bim’s bent broom breaks.

    Ben’s band. Bim’s band.
    Big bands. Pig bands.

    Bim and Ben lead bands with brooms.
    Ben’s band bangs and Bim’s band booms.

    Pig band! Boom band!
    Big band! Broom band!
    My poor mouth can’t say that. No, sir.
    My poor mouth is much too slow, sir.

    Well then… bring your mouth this way.
    I’ll find it something it can say.

    Luke Luck likes lakes.
    Luke’s duck likes lakes.
    Luke Luck licks lakes.
    Luck’s duck licks lakes.

    Duck takes licks in lakes Luke Luck likes.
    Luke Luck takes licks in lakes duck likes.

    I can’t blab such blibber blubber!
    My tongue isn’t make of rubber.

    Mr. Knox. Now come now. Come now.
    You don’t have to be so dumb now….

    Try to say this, Mr. Knox, please….

    Through three cheese trees three free fleas flew.
    While these fleas flew, freezy breeze blew.
    Freezy breeze made these three trees freeze.
    Freezy trees made these trees’ cheese freeze.
    That’s what made these three free fleas sneeze.

    Stop it! Stop it!
    That’s enough, sir.
    I can’t say such silly stuff, sir.

    Very well, then, Mr. Knox, sir.

    Let’s have a little talk about tweetle beetles….

    What do you know about tweetle beetles? Well…

    When tweetle beetles fight,
    it’s called a tweetle beetle battle.

    And when they battle in a puddle,
    it’s a tweetle beetle puddle battle.

    AND when tweetle beetles battle with paddles in a puddle,
    they call it a tweetle beetle puddle paddle battle.

    AND…

    When beetles battle beetles in a puddle paddle battle
    and the beetle battle puddle is a puddle in a bottle…
    …they call this a tweetle beetle bottle puddle paddle battle muddle.

    AND…

    When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles
    and the bottle’s on a poodle and the poodle’s eating noodles…
    …they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle
    bottle paddle battle.

    AND…

    Now wait a minute, Mr. Socks Fox!

    When a fox is in the bottle where the tweetle beetles battle
    with their paddles in a puddle on a noodle-eating poodle,
    THIS is what they call…

    …a tweetle beetle noodle poodle bottled paddled
    muddled duddled fuddled wuddled fox in socks, sir!

    Fox in socks, our game is done, sir.
    Thank you for a lot of fun, sir.

    1. I think you’ve got the whole book there, Gary. I’m missing the pictures, but this is such a great rhyme. I used to love to read it to my children even when they were fed up with it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the beetle battle part!!!

  20. Congratulations on your first giveaway! I hosted my first giveaway a couple years ago at an old blog through The Literary Blog Hop. It’s a great place to start, if you ask me.
    I would love to win The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. It sounds intriguing.
    My email: lostgenerationreader[at]gmail[dot]com
    Cheers!

  21. I would love to win a copy of The 100 Year Old Man as I have been reading so many great reviews of it lately! Thanks for the giveaway.
    good books and a cup of tea (at) live (dot) com

  22. The 100 Year Old Man is one of the best books I’ve ever read 😉 Such a gem isn’t it? All of the books on your giveaway list sound good though! Thanks for the opportunity to win, great giveaway 🙂

    New Twitter follower: @jenhartling

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

