The First To Return To The Status Quo: The Birds

Sandy made landfall in the Northeastern United States yesterday and left a trail of destruction in its wake.  Millions are without power, and more than two dozen people** in the United States have lost their lives.  My family was very fortunate.  Our trees outside are largely intact, and we did not lose power the way we did after Hurricane Irene last year.  Apart from the fear and the kids’ sleeplessness, it was a productive night: I was able to finish reading two books without needing the assistance of candles or flashlights (but I am glad that we were prepared).

We put up one of our birdfeeders this morning, and the birds have been visiting in droves.  My husband snapped a quick picture through the window of a cardinal and red-bellied woodpecker.  The birds were the first creatures we saw after the storm, reminding me of a few lines of Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five (here are my thoughts on this classic), even though the similarities between a natural disaster and the novel’s portrayal of war are limited for obvious reasons:

Everything is supposed to be very quiet after a massacre, and it always is, except for the birds.  And what do the birds say?  All there is to say about a massacre, things like ‘Poo-tee-weet’

I have seen lots of birds, but I have not heard any chirping.  Now that the howling winds have died down, all I have heard is the sound of saws and wood chippers.

So, we’re in clean-up mode around here.  As for this blog, my GIVEAWAY is open until the end of the day on October 31st (thank you to all who have participated so far!).  I hope to have another book review up soon, but I imagine that most of my week will be spent cleaning up after Sandy and catching up on work.

 

**Sadly, this number has risen significantly since this post.

8 thoughts on “The First To Return To The Status Quo: The Birds

  1. I am glad to hear you made it through OK. I did see on the news the path the storm was taking and was very concerned for you and my friend in Philadelphia. My family is from Berks county and I have yet to hear from them. Up here, we missed much of the storm, even though many locales nearby have suffered damage. My street was very fortunate.

    1. I’m glad that your street was fortunate! It would have been a shame to lose any of those Norway Maples. The maples on my parents’ street didn’t fare so well. I hope your family in Berks County is safe and didn’t lose power.

  2. So happy you (and your birds!) are fine. My parents in Wilkes-Barre got much less rain than predicted so the flooding potential isn’t an issue. But, they’ve been without power since midnight. No ill effects except boredom. 🙂

    1. It was such a relief when the storm ended (around here–it’s still causing problems elsewhere, unfortunately). I’m glad that your parents’ area didn’t flood! I hope they get power back soon if they haven’t already.

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

