A Lovely Interruption to Regular Content

The subject of this post — a “chain” blogging award — is a deviation from my regular content, but it refocuses me on blogging after a week of distractions, including the U.S. election and a number of work-related projects.

I am honored to have received a nomination for the One Lovely Blog Award from Fransi Weinstein at Three Hundred Sixty-Five.

It is nice to know that someone thinks highly of my blog, and I recognize the benefits that come with these types of modern day “chain letters,” including drawing new people to my blog, directing my readers to the blogs I nominate, and the generation of organic links (see my post, The Liebster Award: “The Best Thing [For Relatively] Little Apples”).

Below are the rules for this award:

(1)  Thank and link back to the person who nominated you:

Thank you, Fransi (of Three Hundred Sixty-Five)!
For those who don’t know, Fransi Weinstein is a writer who strives to say something “informative, interesting, engaging, charming, meaningful, or amusing” every day.  Having come across a picture of my twins on my blog, Fransi wrote a heartfelt piece on Day 35 in which she reflected on her mother’s experience as an identical twin.

(2)  Post the award picture in your post:

(3)  Share seven facts about yourself:

  •  I hate driving.  After I got my license, I did not drive (not even once) for nearly a decade.
  • I am far too interested in US politics, to the point that the morning’s polling numbers affected my mood more than just about anything else during the last few weeks.  I am not proud of this fact.
  • I read 2-3 books per week.  My taste has changed considerably over the years and now I read more fiction than non-fiction and I prefer lighter material.
  • I do not enjoy the beach as much as I think I should.  I like the view from a hotel room, but I am no fan of the sand, the wind, or the excess sun.
  • I wear gobs of sunscreen 365 days a year even though I have an olive complexion.  I obsess over putting sunscreen on my children, who seem to have taken after the Irish side of the family in appearance.
  • I have two manuscripts, the bulk of which I wrote during my two maternity leaves.  I never had any intention of sharing the first (65,000 words) with anyone but family, and I am still weighing my options of what to do with the second (81,000 words), which I wrote with the intention of sharing with others in some fashion.
  • Unlike most people in my profession, I like being a lawyer.  I consider myself very lucky to have a worthwhile, intellectually challenging job.

(4)  Nominate other bloggers and notify them of their nomination:

Below, in no particular order, are some of the wonderful blogs I follow either on WordPress and/or on Twitter.  These bloggers are writers, photographers, gardeners, and/or book reviewers.

To those I have nominated: If you decide to participate in this “chain” award, please follow the steps outlined above.  I tried to avoid bloggers who have expressed their dislike of these types of awards, but I apologize if I did not succeed in doing so.  Also, I understand that one or more of you may be engaged in NaNoWriMo and so might not have time to respond to this nomination.  Whether you participate in this “chain” award or not, thank you for writing thoughtful blogs that I have enjoyed reading.  I hope you will keep at it.

Lit and Scribbles

Garden Walk Garden Talk

Theo Fenraven

Wrapped Up in Books

Biblioglobal

Youth Literature Reviews

Eliza Babble

Finally, I thought I would add to this post a few photos of what I consider a lovely experience I had this past weekend: a visit to Longwood Gardens with my family. It was the Chrysanthemum Festival (these flowers remind me of the moment when Megan Follows as Anne of Green Gables spells the word and yet I still have difficulty getting all the letters exactly right!  A bonus fact about me is that I’m an atrocious speller).

One said, “Whoa! That’s a lot of dandelions!” Any yellow flower is a dandelion to them

19 thoughts on “A Lovely Interruption to Regular Content

  1. Pingback: Fabulous Blog Awards from Fabulous Friends « Lit and Scribbles with Jae

  2. I’m so very very late to the party (I hate when real life gets in the way of my online life!!!) but thank you so much for nominating my blog. It’s an honor to be included among such great company!

  3. Pingback: Awards « Biblioglobal

  4. Thanks for the nomination! (and sorry for the slow reply) I thought your evaluation of the usefulness of ‘chain letter’ awards was especially well put. I think I will not follow the award rules directly, but instead write a post expressing my appreciation of a few of the blogs that I read.

    1. You’re welcome! I have enjoyed reading your blog. You read a range of books that I otherwise wouldn’t hear about and you’re also willing to challenge commonly accepted ideas. The result is certainly “one lovely blog.” I think you should feel free to interpret the “rules” liberally. It’s really a combination of chain letter and whisper down the lane! Doing so will still meet the goals of directing readers to new blogs and generating links.

  5. Pingback: My First Blog Award! « Youth Literature Reviews

  6. Pingback: Thank You times 100! « Lit and Scribbles with Jae

  7. Thank you for honoring GWGT and congrats on your nomination too. I have not seen you lately at GWGT so I am very surprised and appreciative. I too am not much of a beach goer, but unlike you, I am not into politics at all. It is all just too predictable and in many cases, not how I see the way things should be. I think I would have rather lived in a time when the Constitution was drafted. I am glad there are people like you that really know and care about politics though.

    1. You’re welcome! I wish I’ve had more time to spend reading my favorite blogs,including GWGT, but work has been keeping me very busy lately. I’ll definitely continue to visit your blog and comment when I can. I love your photos and thoughtful commentary.

  8. Congratulations on your nomination … I enjoyed this post–nice personal touch! —and also urge you to share your ms with the world– I’d love to read the book– what’s it about?

    Lovely photos!

    1. Thanks! I probably will share my story at some point, but it’s hard to know when it’s ready. I’m a perfectionist and so to paraphrase the folks at Pixar, my projects are “released, not finished.” My story is women’s fiction, not as light as chick lit and not as heavy as literary fiction. It’s about a pair of identical twins in their early 20s struggling to maintain their close relationship as they encounter adult challenges. I am hoping my own twin daughters have a more resilient bond.

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

