Freshly Pressed & Freshly Published!

It’s been a busy week at The Misfortune of Knowing:

First, I wanted to announce that I finally released my first novel, Two Lovely Berries. Here’s the description:

Two Lovely Berries_Cover August 2014
Available Through Amazon (Click Image)

Nora and Aubrey Daley were never going to be the type of twins who lived together from womb to nursing home, despite their inseparable childhood in suburban Philadelphia and their matching Yale degrees. Their lives diverge soon after graduation—too soon, in Nora’s opinion—when Aubrey’s marriage to her college boyfriend changes more than her last name.

As Nora adjusts to a future without Aubrey by her side, new revelations about their past threaten to undo her progress and force her to question her memories. She and Aubrey share virtually all of their genes—but perhaps little else.

Two Lovely Berries is an exploration of the struggle for individuality between identical twins, complicated by family violence, divisive relationships, and personal demons from which even those born into a life of privilege cannot escape.

If the description interests you enough to read the novel, I’d appreciate hearing your thoughts on it (perhaps against my better judgment! 😉 ).

Freshly Pressed Mockingbird (2)Second, I also wanted to mention that, earlier this week, I was lucky enough to have a second post featured on Freshly Pressed. It was very exciting. The post was The Mockingbird Next Door: A Parasitic Memoir?, in which I discuss Harper Lee’s opposition to a journalist’s memoir/unauthorized biography.

The first time my blog was featured on Freshly Pressed was for Uncovering Our Roots: Why Does Family History Matter?, in which I discuss a memoir of a Catholic journalist seeking her Jewish heritage in Spain.

I guess memoirs of journalists are my thing. Maybe I should read more of them!

Have a great weekend.

Updated: I haven’t talked about my creative writing much on this blog, but this post on Jae’s Lit & Scribbles gives some background on this novel. Since that post, Two Lovely Berries went through a few rounds of edits, including a professional one, and grew by 4,000 words.

64 thoughts on “Freshly Pressed & Freshly Published!

  1. Pingback: Two Lovely Berries (New Adult Fiction): “A lovely, intelligent, and honest novel” – The Misfortune Of Knowing

  2. Pingback: A Review of Two Lovely Berries on Words For Worms! | The Misfortune Of Knowing

    1. Thanks, Lindsey! This novel is actually my second finished manuscript, but the first one I’ve released. Now, I’m 40,000 words into another story, one that is *very loosely* based on Jane Austen’s Persuasion (but revolving around a lawsuit, of course!). I’m often suspicious of retellings–there’s a fine line between an homage to an earlier work and a ripoff of it–so this isn’t really a retelling. It just shares similar elements to Austen’s classic.

    1. Thanks, Jae! It took me a long time to release it. I just couldn’t stop editing! I’m glad I finally decide to let it go, as nerve-wracking as that is. This blog definitely helped me feel more comfortable about sharing my writing (even if it is semi-pseudonymous).
      How have you been?

      1. Good. Thanks! Just writing and working and traveling. I really need to find a new motivation for blogging. I think I burned out on it. Plus life has been busy so it’s too easy to dump blogging.

    1. Thanks again for all of your help with it! I was very impressed by your careful and insightful edits. I’ve often thought about one of your comments about the Britishisms in my writing. I hadn’t realized that I had adopted so much of my mother’s British English!

  3. I’ve already started and am already hooked. You had me at “assonance, consonance, and alliteration.” Intelligent writing is the best kind, which is why I’ve always loved your blog. Can’t wait to read more tonight. Too bad for day jobs, I’d be way further along!

    1. Thank you! It was a very exciting week. Unfortunately, I didn’t have much time to celebrate because of work deadlines (work is unusually busy right now), but that’s probably for the best. If I weren’t working so much, I’d have more time to worry about how I finally made my creative writing available! That’s just the type of person I am. 🙂
      I hope you’re having a great weekend!

  4. That is really wonderful news on your novel. It really takes dedication to write and then become an author like that. I wish you much success. I will purchase it on my iPad which does have a Kindle app. I will be able to say, “I knew her when.”

    1. Hi Donna, thank you so much for your support! I hope you find the story interesting. I’m glad it’s finally out there, but it’s nerve-wracking.
      Have a great weekend!

    1. Thanks for the support and the kind words! I guess we’ll see how badly I can screw up a book. 😉

      I’m hoping the ability to write blog posts will mean something for my ability to write a novel, but there’s a big difference between 500-700 words and 85,000! I love writing fiction, but I have a sneaking suspicion that my calling might be narrative nonfiction. I wish I had the time to explore that a little more.

      1. You have time. 🙂 You’re young yet. Time to explore everything you want to do. It may be a while before I get to this book (writing, work, photography, exploring), but I will. I’m looking forward to reading it.

        1. You sound very busy (which is actually pretty obvious from your blog!). Good luck with everything. If you get around to reading the book, I hope you find it interesting. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the kind words, which mean a lot coming from such a great writer. I certainly hope that I’m the type of writer who can also write fiction. Sometimes I wonder if my real calling is narrative nonfiction, but I really don’t have the time for that!

  5. Oh I’m so very excited for you, congratulations on both items but especially the lovely berries! I can’t wait to read it. Without giving anything away can you help me judge the violence level? I’m a chicken. LOL

    1. Thank you so much! Most of the violence is subtle, as domestic and family violence often are. The novel is told from the perspective of someone who does not experience the violence directly. I made sure the description of the novel mentioned the theme of family violence to help potential readers weigh whether this is the right kind of book for them.

    1. What an honor! Thank you! I’m glad you liked the blueberries on the cover. It’s based on a picture I took while blueberry picking with my twins a few weeks ago.

  6. Alexandrina Brant

    Congrats! I remember starting to follow you because you were writing a book, but you kept pretty quiet about it 😉

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I found it difficult to balance the different identities in one blog (writer/producer versus reader/consumer). I thought about writing two different blogs, but I just didn’t have the time.

    1. PS. By the way, I should thank you because I found my copy editor through your blog (LED Manuscripts). I found her blog when you gave it one of those “chain” blog awards. 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

    1. Thanks for the support, Roy! Yeah, I didn’t talk much about my creative writing here. I wanted to focus on books and general writing issues, and that’s still my plan. As for price… well, I struggled with that. Initially, I thought I would do the standard $2.99, but I still look at pricing from the perspective of a consumer, not a writer. It’s a first book from an unknown author. I’ll charge more for my next one. 🙂

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

