A Child’s TBR Pile: One of These Books is Not Like The Others

In our neck of the woods, the new school year doesn’t start until September 8th, which one of my rising second graders says is “forever and ever and ever away from now!”

Indeed it is, especially for working parents who need to fill the 15-day gap between summer camp and school. Thankfully, my family has stepped in to help.

Today, my twins will go to what they call “Camp Na,” where they will hang out with my sister (Aunty Na) who has planned a week’s worth of art-related fun. Luckily for everyone involved, my sister happens to be a very talented artist and teacher.

One of my twins made sure to pack plenty of reading material to occupy her time between projects.  These are the books she selected:

IMG_5896

While she was sleeping, I removed one from the pile.

She’s only seven!

_____________

* A few of these books are old favorites (See Pregnant Workers’ Rights at Wayside School (Yes, That One).

25 thoughts on “A Child’s TBR Pile: One of These Books is Not Like The Others

  1. Pingback: An Apple For The Teacher (Wait. What?) | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  2. Isn’t it great it’s not a tablet or whatever other gadgets there are these days that they are anxious to take on holiday. But even back in the mists of time I don’t recall packing a book to go away. Perhaps it was because books came from the public libraries and it wasn’t the done thing to take them to the beach or wherever.

  3. Pingback: A Child’s TBR Pile: One of These Books is Not Like The Others | cargo sentimentale

  4. My friends and coworkers often talk about the days when school started the day after Labor Day. I didn’t know that still happened anywhere. Glad to see it does! It sounds like the kids have a fun couple of weeks planned. That’s a great stack of books! I wonder what made her choose the Salinger book. Hopefully she will enjoy it when she does eventually read it.

    1. I feel like everyone else we know is already back to school! My kids are having a great time with my sister (and I have some fun things planned for next week), but it hasn’t been easy to cover these two weeks with my work schedule being what it is. Oh well!

      I have no idea what made my daughter choose Catcher in the Rye, but it definitely looks like her other books!

    1. Yeah, one day she’ll either love it or hate it. I’m in the “loved it” category, but I’m reluctant to re-read it as an adult. I don’t think I’d appreciate it as much now as I did two decades ago.

    1. The Wayside School books are wonderful! My daughters love them and everything else they’ve read by Louis Sachar. Holes is their favorite. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Great planning! It’s like when we took a train journey and I saw my 16 year get out a book to pass the time, for the first time ever! It’s a lovely thing to see children wanting to read.

    1. It is a lovely thing! My middle child (she’s only younger than her twin by six minutes, but she’s still my middle child!) is an avid reader. This is her TBR pile.

    1. Thank you! My middle one (who’s only six minutes younger than her twin, but I still call her my middle one) loves to read the most. This is her TBR pile. She’s reading Little House in the Big Woods first.

    1. So do I! I can’t imagine what she thought Catcher in the Rye was about. At some point, I’ll ask her, but I don’t want to remind her about the book just yet.

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

