“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” -Anne Shirley

Looking Autumn in the eye

Like Anne Shirley, I’m glad there are Octobers. As L. M. Montgomery describes in Anne of Green Gables, this is the time of year — in certain parts of the northern hemisphere — when birches turn “as golden as sunshine,” maples are “royal crimson,” and cherry trees become “dark red and bronzy green.” It’s beautiful.

Where I live, some trees and shrubs are at their height of color, while others are just starting to change:

Misfortune of knowing blog_CallicarpaMisfortune of knowing blog mapleMisfortune of knowing Blog Gingko

The fan-shaped leaves of the gingkoes in my backyard are now streaked with gold. Soon, they will carpet the lawn the way they do at Woodlynne, the fictional estate in Amelia Elkins Elkins (a modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion):

AEE Chapt Two

What’s October like for you?

______________

*These pictures were taken on October 27th in suburban Philadelphia (where Amelia Elkins Elkins takes place).

PS. Did you notice that the tree at the top of this post is staring at you? I didn’t see its “eye” until I posted the picture! (Click on the image to make it bigger).

19 thoughts on ““I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” -Anne Shirley

  1. Pingback: “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” -Anne Shirley | Life and Times of Emanuela Ambrosio

  2. Pingback: The Fate of an American “Treasure House” | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  3. It doesn’t do so much for me, October. Yes the colours can be spectacular but they are the leaves and foliage dying. What is sadder than a field of sunflowers in October? We have the silly event that Hallowe’en has become. The salad days of summer have gone and harsh weather is inevitable. No more walking to work in shirt sleeves. But I do like your pics AMB 🙂

  4. Mom

    I have a love-hate relationship with autumn, and October in particular. There’s the beauty of the season…and sometimes the violence of it, with unpredictable wind and rain storms in my area…taking my breath away, making me appreciate nature all the more, I love the foods of the harvest of this time of year. Also, my husband and daughter both have October birthdates. However, there’s a painful side too: the majority of the deaths and other losses that have happened to me in my life have been in October, or a very few days into November. For me, it’s a very bittersweet season.

    1. “I love Fall and I love Anne Shirley.”

      Ditto! What’s been really fun is passing on my love of Anne Shirley to my redheaded daughters. They adore Anne of Green Gables!

  5. I feel like Autumn is passing me by – my office has no windows and when I leave each day it is practically dark 😦 Thanks for these lovely pictures, especially the unusual coloured berries.

  6. Yes, I’m very glad I live in a world where there are Octobers. We’ve stretched the color out this year, heading north and into the mountains while Greenville was still green, and enjoying the fall foliage here at month’s end. Nature is really so vast – I wish more people would get out and enjoy it, we could all still have our very own piece.

  7. October was my favorite time of the year when I lived up north… except I knew it would end quickly and a long, cold winter would set in. I’ve got a lot of photos from when I lived there.

    Today in south Florida, thunder is rumbling and a gentle rain is falling. Day temps are in the mid-80s, and everything is green green green, and things will stay green through “winter.” These days, I prefer it. 🙂

    1. Who needs the colors of a northern fall when you’ve got that spectacular bougainvillea in Florida? 😉
      I love fall except to the extent the cooler temperatures and changing colors remind me that winter is just around the corner. Ugh.

  8. Our October has been wonderful, all golden and glowing. We did a lot of hiking, and I’m not sure if I should be happy that there were so few people (we had Nature to ourselves) or sad (people are missing out on so much beauty). I love how your Ginkoes are changing color; very unique.

    1. I wish more people enjoyed the great outdoors, but I must admit I like having it all to myself. A quiet walk without any interruptions is one of my favorite activities!
      Thanks for stopping by!

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

