While We Were Gone…

Over the last week, while we were looking at this:

IMG_6688

And this:

IMG_6691
And this:

8
And this:

IMG_6653

This:

IMG_6735 (2)

And so much more on the Mississippi Gulf Coast,

Our little piece of Pennsylvania did this:

IMG_6738_PA

IMG_6762

IMG_6774_PA

 

It’s beautiful here (despite the fact that I haven’t done my spring cleaning yet).

We’re back from vacation now. Between beach visits, fantastic southern food, and hanging out with their adoring grandparents, my twins devoured a number of books. M has been reading Ann M. Martin’s The Baby-sitters Club series, and coincidentally, S has been reading books referenced in The Baby-sitters Club. For example, while M. was reading The Ghost at Dawn’s House (Baby-sitters Club #9), she came across a reference to Beverly Cleary’s Ramona and Her Father, which her twin was in the middle of reading at the same time.

Meanwhile, I’ve been reading Megan McDonald’s Judy Moody books to the Little Z. She will be five next month, so I guess she’s not that little anymore.

Anusha of Prospect Corner_WIPI intended to read A Man Called Ove, but I ended up giving it to Mr. AMB (temporarily!) while I worked on my project with the girls: Anusha of Prospect Corner (based on Anne of Green Gables).  We’re drafting Chapter 27 this week. 🙂

I’m looking forward to catching up on all the blog posts I missed while I was away. Have a great weekend, and Happy Easter to those who celebrate it.

 

Update: Anusha of Prospect Corner, our multicultural update to Anne of Green Gables, is out now!  For more information on it (and to see reviews), check out:

14 thoughts on “While We Were Gone…

  1. Pingback: A Man Called Ove: A Journey That Began When Mr. AMB Asked His Wife For Help (As He Should!) | The Misfortune Of Knowing

  2. pcadams825@yahoo.com

    Enjoyed your vacation photographs. I know you enjoyed the food and the Gulf, as I am a Southerner and there is nothing like it. While you were gone, I have given a lot of thought to the likely lost of To Kill A Mockingbird from school criteria. I would vote to not “delete” TKAM, which is relative for children and adults today. The lessons taught are not just for the South. Perhaps introduce Native American authors. Most Americans (non-native) has no clue what has become of the tortured, defeated descendants of the once self-sufficient people who were the original inhabitants of “our lands.” Sherman Alexie is an excellent author. His voice is accessible, upbeat and fun and he knows a great deal about Native American being one himself. His “Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” explores the theme of hope and dreams through the character’s struggles to find a path to break free of his seemingly doomed fate on a Reservation. Based on Alexie’s struggles to leave the Reservation. Another upbeat novel entitled, “The Long Ranger and Tonto Fist Fight in Haven,” later made into a movie called “Smoke Signals.” Story underscores the ways in which representations of Native Americans have played a part in constructing the image they and others now have of them. On the African American front, there is Toni Morrison and Alice Walker who write for and about life within their race. This, I think probably high school or college level, however kids are so much more knowledgeable now than ever, it may work at lower grades…something to think about. Their books are specifically about racism, currently referred to as “Colorism.” British and Canadian spells it “Colourism.” Either spelling, it is dealing with dark skinned versus light skinned within their race. Morrison’s latest “God Help the Child” is not my favorite as the story and characters, in my opinion, are not as fully developed as in her, “Beloved,” :Bluest Eyes,” “Tar Baby,” and others. Alice Walker’s “The Color Purple,” is also about racism or colorism and is well written in a way one can relate. A person can gain knowledge about the African American race and maybe some understanding by reading these novels. I believe ‘shadows of color’ exist in all races. BTW did you know, according to LA TImes on 3/29/2016, Lee Harper’s personal letters to friends, 29 of them are on the auction block. One from 1990 when she criticizes Trumps Taj Mahal Casio in Atlantic City, has two bids, the last $1,109. In order to open the bid one must be willing to post $750 for each letter. Further damage to Harper and her legacy. Thanks for your blog, I enjoy all the dialogue.

    1. Yes, we did enjoy our trip to the Gulf coast! It’s a beautiful part of the country. Thank you for continuing to think about Harper Lee’s novel and other books that could be great for young readers. To Kill a Mockingbird is a wonderful book. I hope children continue to read it, but the Lee estate is doing everything it can to prevent that from happening. I did see that the estate is selling off some of Lee’s letters. It’s sad. Couldn’t they have donated it to a hometown library or university?

    1. Yes, I really did plant a lot of bulbs! I’m glad they’re coming up. It really cheered me up on my birthday. I’m done with bulbs now. The plan for this year is to put in some perennials to cover bare patches and re-stock the spots I’ve reserved for annuals just to make sure there’s some color all season long. We’re also hoping to do a strawberry patch for the kids (with plenty of fencing around it!).

  3. Jaclyn

    Love it! Beautiful vacation pictures (looks like you had a delightful time, I’m so glad) and what a glorious sight to come home to!

    1. We had a wonderful time on vacation. It’s so much easier to do it now that the girls are a little older. As for the bulbs, it just gets better every day. I’m so happy about it!

    1. Thank you! Somehow, I missed the Baby-Sitters Club when I was a kid. My daughter absolutely loves it, though. I’ve been skimming through them so we can chat about it. It’s fun!

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

