Eight Years Later… #KidLit

8-years-later

Eight years ago, my twins and I watched President Barack Obama take the oath of office. My daughters were only a year old. Today, they are nine, and none of us will watch the inauguration of President Obama’s successor.

Instead, when they come home from school, we will re-read President Obama’s children’s book, Of Thee I Sing, and reflect on the personality traits that make someone a great leader.

For more on this book, see Of Thee I Sing: Inspiring Little Girls to be Future Leaders. I hope we will have a female president before my daughters are old enough to run for the position.

8 thoughts on “Eight Years Later… #KidLit

  1. Big hugs to you and your girls. Friday was rough, and I think we’re all struggling with what’s been said and done these first few days of the presidency. I wish I had good answers, but all I have are hopes that we can shout loud enough together to preserve our democracy.

  2. I moved today, so the TV is off. No time, definitely no interest. I’m so depressed about what might happen the next four years. I’m worried about my friends and women and minorities and those in need … 😦

    1. I hope the move went well! I didn’t watch the inauguration, but I saw some coverage online (unintentionally). The Women’s March the next day was very uplifting, though. I participated in my local march and then watched coverage of the others. I’m glad I did.

  3. I hope so too! I live in Canada so the president doesn’t directly affect me, but I have to admit that everyone over here was really upset about the election results this year. One bad apple does affect all of us. I wish you all the best!

    1. Yes, one bad apple affects us all. Trump is a danger to everyone because of how unpredictable and willfully ignorant he is. There have been other politicians I didn’t like and didn’t vote for, but I didn’t worry to this extent about the short-term safety of our planet.

I appreciate your comments (respectful dissent is welcome)!

