America, Covid-19, and a Lack of Common Decency

Do you remember when Betsy DeVos, the billionaire Donald Trump picked to be the Secretary of Education, defended the presence of guns in some schools by saying it could protect against “potential grizzlies”?

This absurd comment, made during her Senate confirmation hearing in January 2017, displayed her ignorance, but fifty Senators, all Republicans, voted to confirm her anyway, with Vice President Pence casting the tie-breaking vote.

Do we have a single competent person in a decision-making position in the executive branch of the federal government?

Donald Trump, Betsy DeVos, and others are demanding that schools provide in-person education, five days a week, emphasizing the fact that COVID-19 is not as dangerous for children as it is for older people (like their parents and grandparents). There is some risk to kids, and some will die, but the Trump Administration doesn’t think that’s enough of a reason to keep the school buildings closed in favor of online learning.

Many parents are also demanding in-person school. They need reliable child care; their children need school lunches; they worry their children don’t learn as well online or don’t have adequate access to technology; and they worry about their children’s socialization. 

These are valid concerns, but in my opinion, while the virus runs rampant in our communities, the risks of in-person school outweigh its benefits. Would people advocate for in-person school if, instead of an invisible microbe, we were talking about a rabid grizzly bear running through our schools on a daily basis? Some children would die, but the risk to any individual child isn’t high, depending on how big the school is and what precautions they have in place. I wouldn’t want in-person education under these conditions, and I don’t want in-person education while COVID-19 cases rise in my community.

How well would my kids learn in-person anyway, wearing masks and staying six-feet apart from their teachers and friends? How would they feel when teachers and classmates start disappearing because they are sick? How would they feel if they bring COVID-19 into our home? There are real concerns about online learning and the ways it contributes to the achievement gap, but any spread of COVID-19 due to in-person learning will disproportionately harm the same children, who are Black and brown and more likely to be living in poverty. That is the impact of white supremacy. 

Thankfully, my school district’s superintendent favors a full virtual experience this fall, but other area schools are still planning to open their buildings. This is especially true of private schools that are unwilling to prioritize safety over money without an order from the federal or state governments.  

The Trump Administration demands in-person school while failing to control the virus. My state’s Governor and Secretary of Health have done a better job. For example, in Pennsylvania, everyone must wear a mask in public, something the Trump Administration has refused to order at a national level, and our Governor continues to encourage telework while the Trump Administration insists on re-opening the economy in a reckless manner. But, so far, my state government hasn’t provided anything more than recommendations for schools planning to reopen this fall. Pennsylvania is not a coronavirus “hotspot” in comparison to many states, but cases are rising.

In March, when my kids’ school closed a few days before the governor ordered a shutdown, I had hoped the pandemic would be over in time for schools to open as usual in September. I didn’t know what to expect, and I’ve been struggling to make sense of this pandemic—and my country’s response to it—ever since. 

I turned to Albert Camus’s The Plague, which my father gave to me as a birthday present shortly after we went into quarantine. This book has been flying off the shelves these days for obvious reasons. Many people see it as an allegorical or philosophical tale, but while reading it in the context of a pandemic, it feels very real. 

Camus writes:

Everybody knows that pestilences have a way of recurring in the world; yet somehow we find it hard to believe in ones that crash down on our heads from a blue sky. There have been as many plagues as wars in history; yet always plagues and wars take people equally by surprise.

We are several months into this pandemic in my area, and I am still surprised by it.

Camus writes:

Stupidity has a knack of getting its way; as we should see if we were not always so much wrapped up in ourselves.

Stupidity is certainly a contributing factor to my country’s failed response to this virus.

Camus writes:

Throughout December, [the plague] smoldered in the chests of our townspeople, fed the fires in the crematorium, and peopled the camps with human jetsam. In short, it never ceased progressing with its characteristically jerky but unfaltering stride. The authorities had optimistically reckoned on the coming of winter to halt its progress, but it lasted through the first cold spells without the least remission.

Remember when Trump surmised the virus “goes away in April with the heat”? He has repeatedly said that the virus will just “disappear.”

Camus writes:

[O]n this earth there are pestilences and there are victims, and it’s up to us, so far as possible, not to join forces with the pestilences.

Yes, we cannot join forces with the virus, behaving in ways that fuel its spread. Camus reminds us that there is more to admire in people than to despise in them, but sometimes it’s hard to believe that while watching friends and neighbors act as though the pandemic doesn’t exist, demanding hair cuts, vacations, and open school buildings at all costs.

The people I admire are those who have chosen to fight the virus and its effects, those who, as Camus describes, “refus[e] to bow down to pestilences [and] strive their utmost to be healers.”

I look to the medical professionals who treat COVID-19 patients; the researchers developing treatments and vaccines; the school administrators choosing not to jeopardize the lives of their students and staff; the teachers developing plans to teach virtually, and in some cases, in-person under dangerous conditions; the people who try to make sure no one goes hungry; the caretakers and parents struggling to bring a sense of normality to the people they love while keeping them safe; the people wearing masks, practicing physical distancing, and limiting social activities; and everyone who is finding nuggets of joy in the midst of darkness

According to Camus, “There’s no question of heroism in all this. It’s a matter of common decency. That’s an idea which may make some people smile, but the only means of fighting a plague is–common decency… I don’t know what it means for other people. But in my case I know it consists in doing my job.”

In the United States, our federal leaders do not have the common decency to do their jobs, and as a result, COVID-19 is surging and people are suffering. These national-level failures make it harder for state and local authorities, school administrators, and everyday people to do their jobs and to live their lives, and yet, so many of them are doing the best they can. Under these conditions, these decent people are indeed heroes.

18 comments

  1. I teach at a university and I’m desperate to go back, because teaching from home is becoming unendurable, but I think we are still going to be working from home in September. My mum teaches at a primary school and they are (currently) planning to start up again in September. However, at the moment in the UK there is a lot of emphasis on what we will need to close back down in order for schools to go back again, so it’s not like we are just ploughing ahead without thinking about it.

    1. What might need to close down for schools to open up again? I’d never thought of anything like that, and I’m always excited to hear your perspective.

      The U.S. is very much “it’s that time, just get them back in there” without any idea of how to transport children, hold classes, eat lunch, etc. when schools are already overly-filled to begin with. I also learned the other day that according to the FCC, around 250 million Americans don’t have access to the internet, so e-Learning isn’t a great option for a lot of folks.

      On the other hand, if I had kids and they had my personality, they’d probably be sick all day (literally) from worrying about COVID while at school.

      1. Basically, the premise is this: opening schools (5-18, not universities) is a national priority, because of the effect on child development as well as education, free school meals, freeing parents up etc. However, opening schools might raise the infection rate. Therefore, the rest of us will make some sacrifices of other things that could raise the infection rate, so that kids can go to school.

        The details, as is typical, are vague, woolly, and contradictory, but maybe places like cinemas, non-essential shops, and nail salons would close down again to allow schools to open up. I imagine the only thing that is off the table is pubs, which apparently we are troublingly obsessed with as a nation.

        1. Ah, I see what you mean! Yes, things that are non-essential could close to prevent more spread. I (stupidly) hadn’t thought of there being a connection. However, after you and I talked that one Sunday and you said about how play, and children not engaging in play while at school, makes a huge difference in brain development….that’s stuck with me. It’s definitely made me think differently about the debate to send kids back or not. We just learned in my area that they’re doing e-Learning for 8 weeks and then will reassess. Of course, all the bars are open, as you said . . . *sigh*

  2. Lord, yes to all of this. “not to join forces with the pestilences” really made me feel some emotions, because it does truly feel like the people who should be protecting us are in league with the pestilences instead, and it’s so frightening and destabilizing.

  3. Of course it’s not just coincidence that there are no competent people in positions of authority. This president appointed people who have reasons (often financial) for taking apart the agencies they’re in charge of, like Devos.
    I don’t disagree with anything you say about schools, but I fear greatly that we’re allowing the no-nothing administration to dismantle what is left of free public education and we’re going along with plans for the downfall of higher education. There’s not much we can do about it, which has me almost totally paralyzed with despair. I have elected to teach online this fall, since I had a choice.

    1. “This president appointed people who have reasons (often financial) for taking apart the agencies they’re in charge of, like Devos.” This is so true, and now we’re seeing it with the post office. It’s terrible. Good luck with teaching this fall. I am glad you had a choice.

  4. Well written, as always, AMB. I’m afraid the answer to your question near the beginning is, no, there are no competent people in positions of authority in this administration. When the now-famous Irish columnist penned that the rest of the world used to feel admiration for and envy of the US but now they just feel pity, it was with good reason. It’s going to take every thinking, caring person to rise up and answer the call to turn the country around. The rest of the world is on your side (well, except for Putin, Netanyahu, and the Saudis).

    1. Thank you, Jane. It feels good to know that the rest of the world is rooting for us (with a few exceptions). Oddly enough, Netanyahu went to the same high school I did. It feels so strange to have that connection in my extremely liberal area!

  5. Yes to everything. The university law school where I work is planning on having in-person classes especially for the 1Ls beginning the end of August. They allowed the professors of all the other classes to decide whether they wanted to teach online only or in-person. We opened the library in July for study for students taking the bar and so I have been working on site since then most days. It has been ok but only because there have been so few people. Once classes start I’m greatly concerned about how that is going to go. I will not be surprised if the school has an outbreak and we all end up online and working from home again by the end of September. I just hope that when the outbreak comes, I am not one of the unlucky ones to catch it. Take care and stay safe!

    1. I was on the campus of the University of Notre Dame a couple hours ago to pick up a prescription from the faculty/staff pharmacy and noticed that the students are moving in. I saw no one wearing masks despite walking in large groups. Perhaps those are families, true, but how are these large groups not going to run into other large groups? I saw a meme that said there will be three stages to schools opening: 1) we open, 2) oh, f**k! 3) e-Learning. But then what happens with a school like Notre Dame where the students are not largely local? They are from alllll over the place.

    2. Good luck, Stefanie. I hope you stay safe and well. I am glad the university law school gave professors a choice. A university near me did that, but I know a few professors who are teaching in-person because they thought they’d be penalized for teaching remotely.

      By the way, my anise hyssop is growing so well! I always think of you when I pass by it. Thanks for recommending it to me a few years ago.

  6. Totally agree. This administration is appallingly insensitive and tone-deaf to the problems and fears we face. I can’t wait until November, when we vote them all out.

    1. I cannot wait to vote, but I am nervous about the election. The handful of Trump supporters I know are only worse now than they were four years ago.

Leave a Reply